Saturday, December 27, 2014

40 Year Itch : The Best of the 1974 Loss Leaders

   From 1969 through 1980,  Warner Brothers Records would ship off compilation albums to consumers willing to pay $2 for double albums. This year our friend who captains Willard's Wormholes posted the entire set. Here are just a few of our favorite tunes sampled on the 1974 loss leaders.

Side 1
Good Rats Back To My Music (2:45)
 James Taylor Rock ‘n’ Roll Is Music Now (3:19)
 Jimmy Cliff Music Maker (2:59)
 Richard Betts Rain (3:48)
 Jesse Winchester Wake Me (2:18)
 Elvin Bishop Travelin’ Shoes (7:11)
 Side 2
Doug Sahm Tex Mex Trip Groover’s Paradise (3:21)
 Little Feat Spanish Moon (3:01)
 Maria Muldaur Do I Care (3:02)
 Adam Faith I Believe In Love (3:32)
 Ry Cooder Tattler (4:11)
 Lorraine Ellison Walk Around Heaven (3:49)
 Side 3
 Wendy Waldman My Love Is All I Know (3:30)
 Frankie Miller Brickyard Blues (3:34)
 America Tin Man (3:23)
 Arlo Guthrie Me And My Moose (1:59)
 Randy Newman Rollin’ (2:51)
 Van Dyke Parks Come To The Sunshine (edit) (2:30)
 Jesse Colin Young Light Shine (5:19)
 Side 4
 Browning Bryant This Is My Day (4:00)
 Ashton and Lord We’re Gonna Make It (3:47)
 Bonnie Raitt What Is Success (3:23)
 The Peter Peter Ivers Band Alpha Centauri (3:10)
 John Hartford Boogie (1:36)
 The Meters Jungle Man (3:18)
 Wet Willie Keep On Smilin’ (3:55)

Side 1
Leo Sayer Long Tall Glasses (3:04)
 Jethro Tull Bungle In The Jungle (3:31)
 Kenny Rankin In The Name Of Love (3:21)
 Fleetwood Mac Silver Heels (3:22)
 Percy Sledge I’ll Be Your Everything (3:19)
 Graham Central Station Feel The Need (3:54)
 Side 2
 Trapeze Turn It On (5:06)
 Foghat Rock and Roll Outlaw (3:43)
 Montrose I Got The Fire (3:05)
 Todd Rundgren’s Utopia Freedom Fighters (3:57)
 Bachman-Turner-Bachman Goodbye, Soul Shy (3:39)
 Deep Purple Stormbringer (4:09)
Side 3
The Marshall Tucker Band This Ol’ Cowboy (6:37)
 John Sebastian Wild About My Lovin’ (2:59)
 Debbie Dawn Hands (3:07)
Maria Muldaur It Ain’t The Meat, It’s The Motion (2:59)
 Jan and Dean Laurel and Hardy (2:42)
 Mike McGear Norton (2:37)
 Side 4
The Doobie Brothers Black Water (4:10)
 Ron Wood I Can Feel The Fire (4:44)
 Tower Of Power Only So Much Oil In The Ground (2:58)
 Gregg Allman Double Cross (4:33)
 Van Morrison Comfort You (4:27)

Side 1
Graham Central Station We’ve Been Waiting (0:57)
 Graham Central Station Can You Handle It? (5:07)
Montrose Good Rockin’ Tonight (2:55)
The Doobie Brothers Pursuit On 53rd St. (2:30)
Ted Nugent And The Amboy Dukes Sweet Revenge (3:59)
The Talbot Brothers Trail Of Tears (3:48)
Foghat That’ll Be The Day (2:36)
Side 2
Van Morrison Ain’t Nothin’ You Can Do (3:41)
Chunky, Novi and Ernie Atlantic Liner (3:36)
Deep Purple “A” 200 (4:05)
Frank Zappa Cosmik Debris (4:21)
Todd Rundgren Heavy Metal Kids (4:13)
Bob Seger UMC (Upper Middle Class) (3:13)
Side 3
Kiss Strutter (3:08)
Steeleye Span Thomas The Rhymer (3:07)
The Marshall Tucker Band Another Cruel Love (3:53)
Osibisa Take Your Trouble – Go (3:59)
Gregg Allman Please Call Home (2:41)
Neil Young with Graham Nash War Song (3:38)
Denver, Boise And Johnson The ’68 Nixon (This Year’s Model) (1:31)
Side 4
Alan Price In Times Like These (2:35)
Seals and  Crofts Dance By The Light Of The Moon (4:39)
Terry Melcher Dr. Horowitz (2:45)
Leo Sayer The Show Must Go On (3:23)
The Beach Boys Vegetables (2:05)
Robin Trower About To Begin (3:43)
Dooley Wilson As Time Goes By (3:08)

Side 1
Richard Betts Highway Call (4:27)
 Wet Willie Lucy Was In Trouble (3:41)
 Elvin Bishop Let It Flow (3:54)
 Johnny Darrell Orange Blossom Special (3:14)
 Percy Sledge Walkin’ In The Sun (3:25)
 Maxayn Moonfunk (4:40)
 Side 2
The Marshall Tucker Band Blue Ridge Mountain Sky (3:37)
 Boyer and Talton (Cowboy) Houston (3:03)
 Johnny Jenkins Voodoo In You (4:52)
 The Allman Brothers Band Come And Go Blues (4:55)
 Bobby Thompson Foxfire (2:13)
 Captain Beyond Sufficiently Breathless (5:12)
 Side 3
Gregg Allman Dreams (7:55)
 Larry Henley I’ll Come Running Back To You (3:14)
 Grinderswitch Catch A Train (4:46)
 James Montgomery Band I’m Funky But I’m Clean (4:12)
 White Witch Black Widow Lover (4:49)
 Side 4
Hydra Glitter Queen (4:08)
 Duke Williams And The Extremes God Bless All The Girls In The World (2:54)
 Kenny O’Dell I Take It On Home (2:49)
 Kitty Wells I’ve Been Loving You Too Long (2:22)
 Arthur Conley Stop Knocking (2:54)
 Chris Christman Apron Strings (3:37)
 Duane Allman Happily Married Man (2:41)

No comments:

Post a Comment