Monday, March 28, 2016

40 Year Itch: The Sun Has Left the Sky

Camel : Song Within a Song

   On March 26, 1976 Camel released its fourth studio album, the highly regarded Moonmadness. The follow-up to critically-acclaimed concept album The Snow Goose has a concept as well: songs based on each band member's personality."Air Born" about guitarist and flautist Andrew Latimer, "Lunar Sea" about drummer Andy Ward, "Chord Change" about keyboardist Peter Bardens and the single "Another Night" about bassist Doug Ferguson. 
   The highlight, to these ears, is the second track "Song Within a Song". As you might guess, there are two songs in this seven minute track. The first three minutes wouldn't sound out of place on a Pink Floyd album. Then Andy Latimer's guitar signals a shift in gears and we're off on a moog-ish romp with Peter Bardens leading the way. 
   Moonmadness would be the final album featuring all four founding members as Ferguson moved on to form Headwaiter. But the next album would another special one thanks to some help from Brian Eno.

No comments:

Post a Comment